Today, the Empire Club of Canada proudly announced that
Canada’s frontline workers will be the recipients of the second annual Nation Builder of the Year Award.

“Canada’s frontline workers have shown extraordinary resilience providing the essential services that keep our communities safe,” said Antoinette Tummillo, President of the Empire Club of Canada, “there could not be a better recipient of this years’ award.”

The award will be presented on December 10, 2020 and will feature an impressive roster of speakers thanking and congratulating the men and women who have kept us safe and functioning during the COVID-19 pandemic.


These speakers include:

WHO Director-General Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus
Ontario Premier Doug Ford
AFN National Chief Perry Bellegarde
Toronto Mayor John Tory
Chief Medical Health Officer Dr. Theresa Tam
Dragon’s Den star Michele Romanow
CTV News anchor Lisa Laflamme
Actor and activist Shamier Anderson
Actor and activist Stephan James
Former Governor General Adrienne Clarkson
Author John Ralston Saul
Sobey’s CEO Michael Medline
Film Director Atom Egoyan
Juno award winner Sophie Milman
IBK Capital President Mike White

 Speaker of the House, The Hon. Anthony Rota 

“The prominent speakers participating in this year’s event demonstrate the appreciation for Canada’s frontline workers from Canadians from coast-to-coast” added Tummillo, “it is heartening to see these notable names come together to support frontline workers, just as they have supported us through these difficult times.”

In a testament to the tenacity and bravery of Canada’s frontline workers, this year’s award ceremony will be closed with remarks from Anthony Rota, the Speaker of the House of Commons who will announce the placement of the award in the collection of the Library of

In an effort to further appreciate Canada’s frontline heroes, the Empire Club of Canada is also awarding $5,000 to a #NationBuilderHero for their dedication towards supporting our country during these challenging times. The recipient will be determined by random draw, and Canadians are encouraged to nominate frontline workers by submitting a testimonial on the Empire Club’s website.

About the Nation Builder of the Year Award
The Nation Builder of the Year award formalizes what The Empire Club of Canada has been doing since 1903 - celebrating and providing a platform for people who are building our country. An independent panel, the Adjudication Committee, of 11 individuals selected by The Empire Club Board of Directors (six board members and five members of the public) will review the nominees. The choice of winner will be presented to The Empire Club Board of Directors for

Last year the award was presented to the Toronto Raptors, and was received by Masai Ujiri at an event in Toronto.